The Hauraki collective was established to represent the 12 iwi of Hauraki in historical Treaty of Waitangi settlement negotiations.

The members of the Hauraki Collective are the elected Negotiators for the 12 iwi of Hauraki (who are also recognised by the Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations):

In recognition of their shared whakapapa and whanaungatanga the elected Negotiators are working together in the Hauraki Collective to secure the best possible Treaty of Waitangi settlement outcomes at both the iwi specific and collective levels.